Scroll Text

........ CITIZENS DUTY & SLOGAN ::: It shall be the duty of every Citizen of India to defend the Country and render National service when called upon to do so ... SLOGAN ::: "That loyalty to the Country becomes ahead of all other loyalties. And this is an absolute loyalty since one can not weight it in terms of what one receives" (Lal Bahadur Shastri) ..... face book page link for 4th AIC of AIPEU GDS ... ......... .......

scroll text 2

......... .............. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE SELECTED CANDIDATES FOR THE POSTS OF GDS ..................... 4th All India Conference of AIPEU GDS - 8th & 9th October 2022 -- Kasaragod - Kerala ......


... ... Dear Comrade newly elected Divisional / Branch Secretaries of AIPEU-GDS -- PLEASE SEND YOUR POSTAL ADDRESS WITH PIN CODE, MOBILE NUMBER, E-MAIL ID THROUGH SMS TO .. 6294343737 / 9748659815.. OR BY E-MAIL TO >< IMMEDIATELY................... CRUSADER TO GRAMIN DAK SEVAKS (2nd Edition -2016) is ready and can place indent to AIPEU GrC (CHQ), NEW DELHI-8....... One copy Rs.225/- (560 pages) ..... Send e-MO for Rs.250/- to receive one copy of the Book by Regd. Book Paket..........

Friday, December 5, 2014

Task Force on Leveraging the Post Offices Network of the Country - Report submitted

            A Task force on leveraging the post offices network of the country  among others had suggested setting up of three subsidiaries as a part of a holding company under the Postal Department under the Ministry of Communication and Information Technology for extending services in the fields of banking, insurance and e-commerce.  The Report of the Task Force headed by former Cabinet Secretary Shri T.S.R. Subramanian was submitted to the Minister for Communications and Information Technology Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad in New Delhi today.

            In all five subsidiary companies will be called Strategic Business Units (SBU)..Two other subsidiaries are for distribution of 3rd party products and services like providing e-services for general public for bill collections and providing of application forms, documents and certificates on commercial basis. Another subsidiary is for .delivery of government services like Aadhaar ration cards, Vikas patras, etc. on agency basis. It was also proposed that each SBU will have a separate  independent board to operate commercially as  a  profit  centre. Each one of the SBU over the time may go for public participation through public issue. It was proposed that a new postal law may be enacted to give statutory basis for these operations.

            After receiving the Report, Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad said that there will be a structured response to the recommendations of the Task Force on priority basis.  He said after  having felt the need to rediscover the potential of the postal department  in the country, he had made a request to the Prime Minister to which Shri Narendra Modi had readily responded by constituting this Task Force. He hoped that the vast connectivity of the Postal Department would be fully exploited to be a part of the e-commerce boom in the country. The Minister said that not a single employee of the postal department will be removed as a part of any reformation of the Department. He also said that there will not be undue increase in the price of the post card and other postal services that are mostly used by the poor.

            Earlier the Chairman of the Task Force Mr. Subramanian said that as banking and financial services  are not available in most of over six  lakh villages of the country, it was felt that a ‘Post Bank of India’ which is professionally organized should contribute for a financial inclusion of the rural poor.  He also hoped that there could be a creation of over five lakh new jobs over next 3-5 years.  He pointed out that State Governments are also keen on the prospects of implementation of the recommendations of this Task Force.

            The Task Force was constituted on 21st August this year  had the following members:-

1.      Shri T.S.R. Subramanian, Retd. Cabinet Secretary       -  Chairman
2.      Shri T.V. Mohandas Pai, Bangalore                             -  Member
3.      Dhri G.N. Bajpai, Mumbai Former Chairman, SEBI   -  Member
4.      Dr. Ravindra H.Dholakia, IIM, Ahmedabad               -   Member
5.      Shri R S. Sharma, Secretary (E&IT),Govt.of India      -   Member
6.      Shri L.C. Goyal, Secretary, Deptt. of Rural                 -   Member
                        Development, Govt. of India
7.      Shri Rakesh Garg, Secy. Deptt. of Telecom,G.O.I      -   Member
8.      Ms. Kavery Banerjee, Secretary, Deptt. of Posts        -    Member
9.      Shri Kamleshwar Prasad,Member (O),Deptt.of  Posts-   Member
10.  Shri Vasumitra, CPMG,Delhi Circle,Deptt.of Posts    -Member Secretary

For the full report of the Task Force pls. click the link below